Skip to main content
Billy and Rose: Just the Way They Are

Billy and Rose: Just the Way They Are

Current price: $16.99
Publication Date: October 17th, 2023
Publisher:
Candlewick
ISBN:
9781536214208
Pages:
48
Breakwater Books
1 on hand, as of Apr 15 9:25pm
(EARLY READERS)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

Billy and Rose are back—and prone to serious discussion—in four charming stories about the ups and downs of negotiating friendship.

The diligent sheep and the mellow pig who debuted in Billy and Rose: Forever Friends are back—and they have strong opinions! Even best friends can disagree, whether the topic is books (tall blue books versus fat red ones), rain (will it or won’t it?), the perils of a bad hair day (should Rose concur that Billy is having one?), or the incendiary question of which flavor of cupcake is best. Sharing—books and a purple umbrella, compliments and cupcakes (two flavors)—is the very antidote to seriousness in this second set of four witty stories to feature the endearing pair. Kady MacDonald Denton’s warm and spirited illustrations complement Amy Hest’s gentle study of friends as they debate the important issues of the day—and reap the rewards of compromise.

About the Author

Amy Hest is the author of many books for young readers, including Billy and Rose: Forever Friends, The Summer We Found the Baby, Remembering Mrs. Rossi, and Letters to Leo. She is also the author of many picture books, including Kiss Good Night, When Jessie Came Across the Sea, On the Night of the Shooting Star, Buster and the Baby, and Are You Sure, Mother Bear? Amy Hest lives in New York City.

Kady MacDonald Denton is the illustrator of numerous books for children, including Billy and Rose: Forever Friends, the Bear and Mouse books by Bonny Becker, and Two Homes by Claire Masurel. Kady MacDonald Denton lives in Ontario.

Praise for Billy and Rose: Just the Way They Are

Beginning readers who enjoyed Billy and Rose: Forever Friends (2022) will welcome this equally charming sequel. Written with the simplicity of empathy, it makes the point that friends may not agree on everything, as long as they care about each other. Denton's gentle ink-and-watercolor illustrations portray Billy and Rose with soft, spring colors and the graceful, expressive positions and movements of dancers. A beguiling choice for beginning readers.
—Booklist

Gentle words and fluid watercolor-and-ink illustrations remind readers how special friendship is. . . . Patterns within the stories will help early readers break into reading. . . but what stands out is how Billy and Rose clearly and calmly verbalize their opinions and model sharing, compromise, acceptance, and respecting individual differences. . . . A treasure trove of social-emotional skills.
—Kirkus Reviews

Charming illustrations are the perfect accompaniment to ‘Billy & Rose: Just the Way They Are’ — a delightful story of friendship and how differences are not a barrier to getting along with one another.
—The Reading Eagle